skip to content

Cambridge Centre for Smart Infrastructure and Construction

Transforming infrastructure through smarter information

John Burland with Lisa Millard and Sinan Acikgoz

Image: Steering Group Chair John Burland talking to guests at CSIC event 

CSIC's Steering Group is composed of leading engineers and academics who meet four times a year to oversee the high-level strategy of the Centre. Membership of the Steering Group includes:

Professor John Burland CBE, (Chair)
Imperial College London 
Simon Abbott
Network Rail
Karen Alford 
Environment Agency
Dr Keith Bowers
Volker Buscher
Robert Dean
Tim Embley
Mark Enzer
Mott MacDonald
Tom Foulkes
Independent Consultant
Steve Hornsby
Independent Consultant
Adam Locke
Laing O'Rourke
Professor Gordon Masterton
University of Edinburgh/UKCRIC 
Professor Andrew McNaughton
John Pelton
Richard Ploszek
Infrastructure and Project Authority
David Pocock

Stephen Pottle

Phillip Proctor
Highways England
Professor William Powrie
University of Southampton/UKCRIC 
Michael Spencer
International Assocation of Engineering Insurers, (IMIA)
Dr Scott Steedman CBE
British Standards Institute (BSI)
John St Leger


CSIC funding representives

Aimie Bartlett

Colin Cooper
Innovate UK

Liam Winder
Innovate UK

Latest news

Read the new Smart Infrastructure Blog published today

2 August 2021

This month’s Smart Infrastructure Blog is published to coincide with the release of the ‘Line of Sight: an Asset Management Methodology to Support Organisational Objectives’ paper by CSIC in partnership with Costain and the Construction Innovation Hub (the Hub). Written by the paper's lead author Dr James Heaton, Digital...

Line of Sight Methodology offers ‘golden thread’ to connect organisations with their assets

30 July 2021

The ‘Line of Sight: an Asset Management Methodology to Support Organisational Objectives’ paper has been published today, 30 July 2021, by the Centre for Smart Infrastructure and Construction (CSIC) and can be read here . This 10-page, accessible overview of the methodology is aimed at all stakeholders, both technical and...